1. Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto - Summvs - Inner Ocean Records
  2. Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto - Summvs - Inner Ocean Records

Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto


Regular price $44.99

Label: Noton (Germany)
Catalog: NOTON 055LP

Double LP version. Released for the first time in 2011, Summvs is the fifth and final installment of Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakamoto's V.I.R.U.S. series. The title Summvs refers to the Latin word "summa" (sum) and "versus" (towards); it serves as a metaphor for the work being oriented towards a collaborative result. The album features "Microon" compositions containing recordings of a 16th tone interval tuning piano -- Piano Metamorfoseador Carrillo en Dieciseisavos de Tono. The album also features two covers of the track "By This River," composed by Brian Eno, Dieter Moebius, and Hans-Joachim Roedelius in 1977. In the album's twelve compositions, Sakamoto's haunting piano arrangements coalesce with Carsten Nicolai's digital rhythms, creating a sonic aura as magnetic as it is meditative. Remastered in 2021 in collaboration with Calyx Studio, the album's recordings are accompanied by two new compositions titled "Monomom" (released digitally in December 2021) and "Kizuna." Like "Monomom," "Kizuna" is the studio version of the homonymous composition recorded during Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakamoto's 2019 Australian tour and included in the album' TWO Live at Sydney Opera House (2019). The work "Kizuna" means "human bond" in Japanese and refers to the title of an animation piece by the Italian contemporary artist Valerio Berruti released in Japan in January 2011. Album art designed by Carsten Nicolai. Mastering by Bo at Calyx.